D700 w/ video? Yes. Jon Woolf+Architecture=love?

January 31, 2009 § 3 Comments

currently looking at: Dana Hoff

currently listening to: She’s a Jar by Wilco

Hey there,

Been awhile since last post! I’ve been busy to say the least. My wedding website is finally up and running, take a peek(www.bengebo.com/weddings.html). I’ve also been traveling all over the place, even though my ties have kept me restrained in Boston mostly. I recently went to New York to shoot the band DeVotchKa last weekend, that was a blast. It was a great show and I got a lot of good pictures, take a look at my main site(www.bengebo.com).

I have also been focusing a lot of my attention on my architecture projects. Dana Hoff really inspired me with his architectural portfolio. His kitchens and bathroom are really good work. My favorite work of his work are the exterior shots; he really knows how to line things up accordingly and also pick the perfect time of day to get the most out of the structures he shoots. I also like that he doesn’t have that obvious HDR look, they are mostly all elegant photographs with  lot going on.

Today, I had the pleasure to hear an architectural photographer by the name of Jon Woolf speak. He is from the area and shoots panoramic cityscape’s. He uses all digital now and explained the process of using a 4×5 to capture one scene with 25+ frames! Trust me, it’s a painful process that makes you feel like you’re work ethic is inadequate. Anyways, there’s really impressive work from this guy; the curvature of the buildings are so fluent and seamless in his panoramics. Great stuff. (http://www.jwoolf.com/index.html) .

I heard the D700 has the capabilities to shoot video. (Whoa, really) Oh yeah, check out this article. I just got the new Animal Collective album and I need to give if a few more listens. Take care and check out my new DeVotcKa pictures.

Ben

www.bengebo.com

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to D700 w/ video? Yes. Jon Woolf+Architecture=love?

  • Angellaa says:

    Hmm, very cognitive post.
    Is this theme good unough for the Digg?

  • Doug says:

    The guy developing the hack released his program and so far the feedback is positive. I’m sooo glad you saw this, i had read this from your blog a while ago but haven’t had the time to really peruse the thread. Still need to test it on my gear.

    So it looks like I’m going to attempt a music video for one of my friends sometime this summer. Could be crazy an it looks like the frame rate is just fast enough to be termed a cool visual effect.

    • Ben Gebo says:

      Yeah I know it, all the components are there, Nikon just limited it’s use. The D90 is apparently a nice camera, although I haven’t had a chance to test one out. At some point I’d like to get a D700 and then a D90 as a backup. Just wait about a year or two, I’m sure some serious video equipment will be released by Nikon.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading D700 w/ video? Yes. Jon Woolf+Architecture=love? at Ben Gebo's Blog.

meta

